Coming from such large families, we enjoyed reunions each year on my Dad’s side. We always had a good time. Most of us only seeing relatives for a single visit each summer. I tried, as did others, to continue the tradition once Aunt Betty was gone and it never was the same. I can remember family gatherings on my Mom’s side. We had started a new Christmas tradition, but once Aunt Pat was no longer with us it too felt odd. Families drift apart. Friends drift apart. Life goes on for each of us a little differently. Social media often seems to take the place of reunions and picnics. How sad.

My past relationships with boys/men were complex and often disappointing. Most were better as friends and others out of my life. In one of the hardest times of my life; I met a boy who I then matured with. We turned 21 and had fun with friends and realized together just what we were risking going out all the time. We wanted a home of our own. Mike asked me to be his wife and I accepted. He showed me his strength, kindness and love when I needed it. Things aren’t always easy, but along with our family we are still trudging along. He said for better or worst; for sickness and health. Who knew shortly after we were married he proved his love and keeps the promise. Not always easy. Not always difficult. Our relationship is not the romantic one I imagined as a teenager, but he can be a great caring individual when I need him. He cooks, picks me up out of mudpuddles and off the floor. This man has literally carried me on his back to get me taken care of. We only had one little miracle and he and I handled the scariest time in my life; being sick, pregnant and scared to death that the baby boy I had wanted for so long wouldn’t make it. We did it. We still do. Yes we don’t always agree, but we find a way eventually. One person in a family unit with chronic illness definitely stresses the person, but also loved ones, coworkers, friends if they stay around. Friends often become acquaintances ….I’m not sure where they went 😦 so this man and my chronic illnesses have influenced my life immensely over the last 22 years. He has shown me the appreciation for nature’s beauty, the tickle of the nose at the first cut of hay, and given me the knowledge and assistance to be a responsible gun owner.

Yesterday, a gorgeous day before Easter he along with my Mom, Charlee and my brother Chuckie attended an educational day for HD. I was surprised he said yes when space was still open. It is a scary horrible disease. I can only place my faith in God that my having this disease is so that others may be cured later. We don’t talk much to each other. Our teenager attended an HDYA retreat for a day. He didn’t want to leave. I am hopeful that I can raise awareness in Armstrong County and maybe in Butler County too. Brandon, my teenager, is excited to be involved in a way to advocate for the illness. So these diseases that disrupt my life – our life – may some day soon become eradicated and in the past. The disease have been huge influences on who I am.

My parents, as mentioned previously, were always offering any help to family even if they too struggled. I’ve had numerous aunts and uncles that lived with us growing up. I can remember my Dad’s close friends joining us for holidays because we were their family. I had good role models growing up. Aunt Alice, aka Gert, left her youngest sister, my Mom, live with her more than once. I can remember much about her being in our lives. Her passing greatly affected the family dynamic. My Aunt Viola lives with my parents now. My Mom has helped both ladies with illness and becoming a caregiver. They work together to make meals and care for my Dad. The love that is offered between my folks and the Aunts & Uncles is quite the lesson we earned as kids and continue to see now. I truly believe my eagerness, even when my illnesses get in the way, to help people I’ve known forever and strangers.

I’m ME because of the people that have travelled along with me on my journey called life. Recently, my faith has become a huge daily influence. I am trying not to sin and trying to pray often. I pray for strength to get thru my life. I get frustrated with chronic illness, HD, isolation and so many other things. I pray for a cure. I pray for safe travels for others. I pray for peace in all of this. It is incredible to be able to learn about the word of God again. I feel like I need to be there.

Who am I? I am Heather. I am opinionated. I love to be around my family. I believe God is good. I am often too honest. I have a huge heart. I miss many. I am who I am because of many family members, old friends, new friends & many more, amazing and not so amazing, individuals. I am not my chronic illneseses.

Disclaimer if family or friends are reading this – don’t take it personally if I haven’t mentioned you. I’m sure whoever you are; you have influenced my life in some way or another.